Jump to content


Photo

Changing Resolution When Scanning?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mindy

Mindy

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,551 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa

Posted 21 August 2007 - 10:17 PM

OK, I'm feeling very blonde now (yes, I really am blonde!), but how do I change the resolution (or even find out what it's set at) on my scanner? I have a fairly new (within past year) Canon Pixma MP 600 printer/scanner. I'm sure it's obvious, because it's pretty user friendly, but I sure can't seem to find where to change the resolution. My dh stashed the instruction manual somewhere & he can't remember where!!! TIA!

:blondmoment:

#2 angelaNussbaum

angelaNussbaum

    A strange pixy monkey NUT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,389 posts
  • Personal Statement:Im a nut, what can i say? I love making ppl happy!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Palmer Lake, CO

Posted 21 August 2007 - 10:38 PM

Know what i would do? I would go to the companys site, look in their support department for the documentation. Most often they have a digital version of the manual. OR even... use ask.com and say ... oh i just found it.. so here you go...

http://alpha03.c-wss...R...MA&TRF=MAIN


Use that link and you can download the manual :)

hope that helps

angela

#3 GPamela

GPamela

    Hot Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Personal Statement:WVU Mountaineers Fan
    I love WV.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Morgantown,WV

Posted 21 August 2007 - 10:59 PM

OK, I'm feeling very blonde now (yes, I really am blonde!), but how do I change the resolution (or even find out what it's set at) on my scanner? I have a fairly new (within past year) Canon Pixma MP 600 printer/scanner. I'm sure it's obvious, because it's pretty user friendly, but I sure can't seem to find where to change the resolution. My dh stashed the instruction manual somewhere & he can't remember where!!! TIA!

:blondmoment:



You need to open your cannon scanner software and view all menus.
The resolution may be on menu that is hidden.
If you scanner program has a help menu look thier.
Many programs put the program help right on your computer
with the actual program.

Without trust, honesty & loyalty all your friendships will turn to dust, be a friend worth having, be a light in the sky.




#4 Mindy

Mindy

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,551 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa

Posted 22 August 2007 - 08:52 AM

Angela - what did you search for to get that link? It wouldn't work for me - said I needed to try another region? Strange, huh?

I'll go look for a hidden menu. I tried all of the obvious ones, but it's gotta be there somewhere!

#5 angelaNussbaum

angelaNussbaum

    A strange pixy monkey NUT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,389 posts
  • Personal Statement:Im a nut, what can i say? I love making ppl happy!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Palmer Lake, CO

Posted 22 August 2007 - 09:03 AM

okay...

www.usa.canon.com
select support, consumer

then in 1 - multifunction
2 - inkjet
3- pixma mx600

it will open up a page that looks like a store, but if you scroll down, it should be on a support tab. Next to that tab you will see Drivers and Downloads click on it
you should now see a link for product manuals click on it... a window will pop up (make sure your program doesnt block it) then follow the directions for downloading it.

let me know if it helped you!!

angela

#6 angelaNussbaum

angelaNussbaum

    A strange pixy monkey NUT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,389 posts
  • Personal Statement:Im a nut, what can i say? I love making ppl happy!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Palmer Lake, CO

Posted 22 August 2007 - 09:06 AM

LOL.. just saw this..

n-screen Manual for Windows [ HTML Help ]
This is the same electronic manual in the CD enclosed with the printer.
It explains how to operate the printer software in detail.

do you have your cd?

angela

#7 Mindy

Mindy

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,551 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa

Posted 22 August 2007 - 10:51 AM

Found the manual - thanks!

However, after reading the manual, it doesn't have anything about how to change the resolution (just basically says put the pics on the scanner & press OK!). I knew that much! Determined to figure this out, I started playing & woo hoo, I figured it out!!!
:dancingelephant: :dancingelephant: :dancingelephant: :dancingelephant: :dancingelephant:

I discovered that you don't set anything on the scanner itself - have to do it on the computer. Guess I assumed that you changed the settings right on the scanner itself somehow.

Here's how it works for me (in case anyone is in the same bind!):

-make sure printer/scanner is on and set to "scan"
-bring up "My Pictures" on your pc and click "Get pictures from printer or scanner"
-click on "Custom Settings" - that brings up a menu that I can change Brightness, Contrast, Picture Type (color picture, greyscale, etc.) and
ta da......RESOLUTION!
-click on "Next" and then choose all of the normal stuff (name of file, where you want to save it)

Worked dandy! Now I can cross that off of my long list - figure out how to scan and save paper prints to use for digi scrapping! THANKS!!!

:penguins:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users