How Do You Cut Out An Object?

Joodles

Anyone know where I can get instructions for PSE5 on how to cut an object out of a photo? say I want to remove a person for example out of a picture, how do I do that? I can't figure out how to outline something to cut it (not cropping a square, but the actual outline of the object) I didn't see instructions for that in the first Secrets revealed, anyone know where else I can get that info?

thanks!

OK, I'm going to try to help, although I am fairly new at this, too. PSE 5 has a tool called the magic extractor (I think). You have to use this to cut out. I've done it a few times and it takes some practice, but it's possible. You might try to find it in your tool section on the left and just start playing with it, until you get it.

There may be some better answers out there, but at least I'll have bumped this for you!!

I've used my magnetic lasso to click around an object. Then at the top menu, click select then inverse. Then go to edit and cut. This should remove everything from around the object you have outlined. Just make sure to meet the ending point to the starting point on the magnetic lasso. You'll know when the "marching ants" appear. If you don't like the result, click undo and keep practicing.

That's what I've done, although it is tedious.

Someone has also told me that the magic eraser will delete large sections around objects if there is a large contrast in light/dark sections. However, I have not used it since most of my pictures do not fall in that category.

Good luck!

Here's a sample of an extrraction using the magnetic lasso!