Adding Layer Styles And Actions To Pse6

schmoo

Here are some instructions for how to load layer styles and actions, that you have purchased, into PSE6 and to get them to appear in the menu as opposed to the 'show all' option. Please make sure you copy files and never edit one of your original files. These instructions are quite long and you may want to print them out. I have tried to make these instructions as easy as possible for people to follow and as accurate as I can. If there is an error in them can you please post. If you are a complete novice on the computer please proceed with caution.

A quick note for those people just starting out with custom styles and actions and other stuff. I save all mine in a folder called PSE Custom Stuff and then have folders in there called Styles, Actions, Shapes, Textures, Filters. Then I put each style, action etc into the relevent folder (still in it's own folder). Then I put a copy of the .asl or .atn file in the folder it needs to be in to be installed in PSE. This makes life way easier if you want to upgrade. Then you can find all your custom stuff really easy.

Layer Styles

Close PSE6

You need to put the style file (.asl) in this folder:

XP- C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\6.0\Locale\<en_US or your locale>\Photo Creations\layer styles

Vista- C:\ProgramData\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\6.0\Locale\<en_US or your locale>\Photo Creations\layer styles

This will get the style into PSE6 and will appear in the 'show all' option in the styles palette.

To get the style to appear on the menu of the styles palette you need to create an XML file for it.

In the folder below is the XML files for the styles.

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\6.0\Locale\en_US\photo Creations Metadata\layer styles