Help With Ehd!

donna2d

Hey Girls, I'm a newbie who needs some help. My DH bought me a Free Agent 320gb EHD and I'm wanting to transfer my PSE-5 to it because of the LARGE amt of photos in the browser. Should I uninstall from my C-drive then reinstall to my EHD.....would photos still be there? Hubby said to move it into the EHD but it is still on the C-drive and can't be deleted. How should I go about doing this?

Thanx for any help you can offer......I really need it!

Guest dawnsmemories

I know at one point I tried downloading PSE4 to my EHD and I could not do it. Maybe there is a way to put the browser to the ehd I am not sure.

Good luck!

dawn

I know at one point I tried downloading PSE4 to my EHD and I could not do it. Maybe there is a way to put the browser to the ehd I am not sure.

Good luck!

dawn

Thanx for your input Dawn, hopefully we'll get it figured out during the extra "free" time during the holiday weekend!

Donna

My techie friend says it is better to not run a program like PSE from a EHD. The power can't run fast enough through the USB cord to run the program effectivly. He said you can run some small applications from a EHD but really not PSE. He explained it like having two water towers the same size but one has a 2 ft pipe and one has a 1 ft pipe. The water just can't travel as fast through the 1 ft pipe. Even though the tanks are the same size, you can't move the water (power) fast enough through the smaller pipe (USB cord)

I know that's kind of simple, but I need simple! LOL! So your better off just to install PSE on each computer you will be hooking up to. HTH!! Good luck!

Thanx Launa, more to think about. My only reason for wanting to move PSE was because of the many, many photos....I think it's slowing it down. Maybe there's another option there?

Donna

You can move all your photos to your ehd. and free up that space on your computer. It shouldnt require your pse to change... unless you need to point to them with the program.