Most Unique Altered Piece?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 abbier626

abbier626
  • Guests

Posted 12 July 2005 - 07:07 PM

What is the most unique item you have altered?

I haven't done much altering yet. Only a few notebooks. I have been saving lots of things that I think would be fun to alter - cd's tins, notebooks, toxes, clipboards.

Oh! I did alter a tag that came on some clothes. It was heavy, like chipboard, and I covered it with patterned paper and added a nice big flower on it then used it as a gift tag.

#2 Ro

Ro

Founder

• Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,434 posts
  • Personal Statement:I'm a geek. I'm a writer. I'm a philosopher. I'm a person of faith. I'm me.

Posted 14 July 2005 - 12:52 AM

I did something really cool for my daughter a year or two ago. I found an old jewelry box at a thrift store. It was the kind that had four drawers in the middle and two side things that swing open and have hooks inside to hang necklaces. They close up sort of like a drawer, too (only length-wise - if you can imagine that).

I used coordinating scrapbooking papers to alter it. Each drawer, top and the sides, used a different paper. I painted some of the edges with acrylic paint and used some ribbon along the sides. I used decoupage glue to stick all of the paper to it and it has held up very well.

I could swear I had a picture of this thing, but I can't find it at the moment. She loves it, though, and it was a fun project to do.

It's a lot of fun to do things like that. In fact, if you will look at the rotating GIF on the front page of the Boutique, you may be able to see another box that I did recently using Mandy's Wallflower papers. painted the sides of the box and used the papers to make a really cool top for it.

Life is an adventure of many colors. Enjoy the view.

Visit my gallery
My designs and tutorials in the Scrap Girls Boutique

gallery_3_358_20276.pngButton_Founder.png

#3 angleigh

angleigh