Jump to content


Photo

Portable Ehd


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 PeggyB

PeggyB

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Layton, Utah

Posted 17 June 2008 - 06:22 PM

Okay all you computer hardware savvy people, I need your help. I just bought a Western Digital Passport Essential portable hard drive. I tried to install it on my labtop but when it opens up to the first screen ( do you accept the terms of agreement...) it doesn't show anything except the boxes to check. It doesn't have any words so I don't know what I'm checking! I hope someone knows what I mean. I've tried to go to the manual and can't find anything pertaining to this particular problem. Any ideas?

Peggy

#2 DDecker

DDecker

    Live, Laugh, Love, Eat Chocolate!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,893 posts
  • Personal Statement:I am a mom, wife, sister, friend and daughter not necessarily in that order.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Southern New Hampshire

Posted 17 June 2008 - 07:20 PM

That's odd, I have never had any problems with my WD's. I would power down the laptop with it plugged in and then restart to see if it will reboot it's self.
Posted Image
Posted Image Posted Image

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference. reinhold niebuhr

#3 AmandaFace

AmandaFace

    Scrap Girls Design Team

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,323 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:KY

Posted 17 June 2008 - 07:40 PM

i do believe i just got that same hard drive. im not for sure... mines pink! :)

anyhoo... all my hard drives i just plug in and im set. i suggest rebooting as well.

#4 ManiakMama

ManiakMama

    The Maniak Mama

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Inver Grove Hts, MN

Posted 17 June 2008 - 08:00 PM

Hmmm, that's strange. I too just got a WD 250 GB EHD and was able to just plug it in and go. I would try it again after rebooting and if you still have issues, contact WD's support.
Posted Image
My Blog Maniak Madness | Check out My Gallery | Guardian Angels for Soldier's Pet | Ten Tiny Toes Photography
CS4 | Lightroom | Canon Digital Rebel XTi & Sony DSC H2
Posted Image Posted Image

#5 PeggyB

PeggyB

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Layton, Utah

Posted 17 June 2008 - 10:53 PM

Thanks you guys. I plugged it into my desktop and it worked fine and also on my husbands laptop. It's something with my laptop and I'm not sure what to look for but hopefully I'll find it soon. So, do you all really like it? Peggy

#6 PeggyB

PeggyB

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Layton, Utah

Posted 18 June 2008 - 12:02 AM

Good news! The start up screen that I couldn't read was just to sign up for the extra software. The ehd works great! Now I just have to figure out how I'm going to organize things. Peggy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users