Pse4 Question

Guest Faye185

Guest Faye185
I am new to digital scrapbooking. I bought PSE4 along with a bunch of books to help me learn how to use it but I can't even follow a tutorial because I can't get the layer thing right. Whenever I import my photo or image my Layer goes to background layer with each image I import. It's like I'm getting nowhere, I can't make layers. I hope I am explaining it right. If someone could help me please. I even tried re-installing, but it's the same.

Faye

Ok, so you go to File>Open and find a photo, right? Then you can go to File>Open and open papers. You can drag and drop items from one window to the other, as long as both are viewable in your workspace.

I start by going to File>New and starting an 8.5x11" canvas. Then I chose papers and photos, open them, drag and drop to the new canvas one by one.

Layers - think of them as those plastic, see through pages in a medical book showing the systems of the body. One one page, there's the skeleton, on the one above that, the muscles, on the one above that, and organs, etc. Alone, they may not be much, but when they are all on top of each other, you get an overview of the human body - just like when all your layers are on top of each other, with a background paper as the bottom layer, the base, you get a scrapbook page!

Hope that helps!

Hi Faye,

Make sure that you aren't mixing up the file thing at the bottom of your screen (which just shows you which files are open) with the layers palette (which is at the bottom right corner of your screen. It's a common mistake of PSE 3 and 4 users to get those two things confused.

Just because you have your files open, it doesn't mean that they have been stacked together in layers. To do that, you have to use the move tool and drag one file on top of the other file. Once you do that, you'll see that you have more than one layer over in the layers palette.