6 replies to this topic

#1 Bellalea

Bellalea

New Scrapper on the Block

• Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 09:21 PM

First let me clarify that I'm new at using an EHD for backing up my files so I have no idea if I'm using it correctly.I have a few questions.

I bought a Hitachi EHD last Spring ( because the sales person said it was a good one) and initially did a full backup of my system.Since then I've only done incremental backups where I'm only backing up what's new.
Should I be doing a full backup more often ?

I thought it was maybe time to do a full backup again, although I must confess I don't understand why it's needed.Why not just always do an incremental backup?

I always opt for the 'Advanced' option where I could chose which files I'm backing up. I try to backup in stages so that it cuts down on the time it takes to complete. For example, I did a full backup of my photos the other night by setting the backup to start when I went to bed. It took 3 or 5 hours to complete (can't remember which). Anyway, a long time!
Is this the best way to handle each backup , where you do it in smaller sections? Wouldn't it take forever if I tried to backup everything at once?

When I had sucessfully backed up my photos, I decided to backup my scrapbooking supplies next. I did everything as usual but when I get to the window that has the progress bar, poof- the window closes before anything is backed up.When I looked for the backup folders for that session, the folders are there, but they are empty.
After multiple attempts at trying a backup of my scrapbooking folder, I gave up and tried backing up my C drive. That worked no problem.
I checked, and there's plenty of room still left on the EHD.I just can't figure out why the backup of the scrapbooking folder won't work.
Can anyone suggest a solution?

Apologies for the long post and multiple queries!
Thanks in advance! Novella

#2 Vaughnde

Vaughnde

Quietly Crochetin' and Scrappin'

• Members