Best for a beginner??

Guest divascrapper

Guest divascrapper
For someone who is a beginner and has never used software for scrapping what is a good program? Something easy but with good functionality, too.

Here's my favorite for a beginner, I still use it the most, though I'm not a beginner: either The Print Shop by Broderbund or Creating Keepsakes Scrapbook Designer Deluxe (also by Broderbund.)

They are both under $30., though The Print Shop has a range of products from Essentials to ProPublisher and each level has more bells and whistles and costs more.

I think both of those programs are very easy to use, the learning curve is low, the shadow tool works on everything, not limited like in other low end products, and the Photo Workshop tools are ok. Granted, a lot is preprogrammed, so we aren't talking Photoshop!

Let me start posting on the gallery and you'll see what I mean, I use these programs to layout my scrapbook pages with, though I use other programs to create my page set designs.

Photoshop is the graphics industry standard, and it's what i use. But I had hands-on experience before I started scrapping, so I wasn't really a beginner.

The "watered down" version is Photoshop Elements and is very good.

I haven't really tried others, but some titles to look for include Digital Image Pro, Picture It! and I'm totally blanking on others...

Guest krasch
I am not sure about those programs personally. I have never used them. That said - I think it all depends on your technical savvy. I started with PSP 7. I am now using PSP 8 regularly, while testing the newest version - PSP 9. While the learning curve was a little more than I would suspect specific scrapbook software packages, I understand that you have much more room for growth. I learn something every time I open PSP.

Also - there is much talk about Fotofusion. Now - for me - I couldn't use it. Frustrated me no end!!! BUT - I have heard from many people that thought it was easier than PSP.