6 replies to this topic

#1 Carla S

Carla S

New Scrapper on the Block

• Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 23 April 2010 - 04:14 PM

G'day everyone! Me again with more silly questions! (I'm new to this, can you tell?)
I was just wondering about the scrap simple paper templates? I noticed that they are black and white and was wondering how you use these? Do you colour them yourself? And if yes, how do you do that? Is it easy? Are they like a background paper that you colour to match your other papers?
TIA.
Cheers, Carla

#2 JenniferZ

JenniferZ

Scrap Girl Scrapper Devotee

• Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,000 posts
  • Personal Statement:Strong Women: May we know them. May we raise them. May we be them.

Posted 23 April 2010 - 04:57 PM

It is very easy to recolor templates. And they are most often used as BG papers, though you can use clipping masks and paper tear actions to use them in many different ways. (I am not sure what program you are using, but I use PSCS3, so that is how I will explain it -- this will also work -- I think -- in PSE.)

The easiest way to color a template is to create a color layer above your paper layer and then change your blend mode to "color" or "overlay." (Or scroll through your blend modes to see the varying effects. They are all different and can be combined and adjusted for unlimited variations. You can also create a gradient layer above your template layer and do the same thing with the blend modes.)

If your paper template has a pattern, you can use your magic wand tool to select each piece of the pattern and then fill it with colors via your paint bucket tool. I would do this in another layer, so that you can use your blend modes to preserve the paper texture.

There are probably at least a dozen other ways to recolor these templates, but these are just a few and the ones I use the most.

HTH!

spring10siggy.png
Button_Designer.pngSGblinkie.gifSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif

#3 JenniferZ

JenniferZ