Jump to content


Photo

Getting A New Computer With Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 19 January 2011 - 07:54 AM

i just couldnt take working on my slow and small LT when i come to babysit my dgs..i am usually away from my dt for 3 days.. and i decided i need to get a DT for when i am in the city with dgs... so that i can scrap without pulling my hair out..i am getting a fast HP...i have an HP DT at home .... my present dt has vista...the new one has windows 7..anything i need to know ...will it be easy to figure out windows 7?

i have some prorams that i want to make sure will work...i have acdsee 12, amp font viewer will they be ok?

anyone use mozy? what do i have to do to get mozy to backup this new computer without losing all my stuff... my stuff is on an ehd..which i will be using with this computer and my old DT...anyone know


any other things i need to know when i get the new computer..

thanks for your help
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#2 tinkerbell11

tinkerbell11

    Collector of shoes, wearer of FLIP FLOPS

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,380 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Upstate New York

Posted 19 January 2011 - 08:03 AM

Bobbie I just got Mozy (actually at your recommendation) :)! I think I saw a link on the site to backup if you have a new computer, I would check the customer questions section. I don't know about the other programs, but a new faster computer is always fun good luck!

gallery_10753_358_55511.png
Button_Welcome.pngSG_BB_LoveThis.pngButton_Published.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif

 


#3 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 19 January 2011 - 09:04 AM

thanks..will check this out on the website of mozy or go on their im help..which i love and hoping to hear more about windows 7 from anyone else
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#4 JenniferZ

JenniferZ

    Scrap Girl Scrapper Devotee

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,992 posts
  • Personal Statement:Strong Women: May we know them. May we raise them. May we be them.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Enola, PA, USA

Posted 19 January 2011 - 09:19 AM

Make sure you get Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate (I have Ultimate and EVERY old program I had works fine). Win7 Home Premium is not compatible with some older programs.

Not sure about back-up, but I transitioned easily from Vista to Win7. Good luck!

spring10siggy.png
Button_Designer.pngSGblinkie.gifSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#5 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,324 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 19 January 2011 - 10:05 AM

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium, and love it. It runs all my software except Adobe Illustrator V10 (8 years old.)

I LOVE the Libraries feature, although it's taken a little to learn it.

gallery_17172_358_42296.png
SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#6 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 19 January 2011 - 01:19 PM

thanks gals...i will probably be back here once the computer arrives and is set up... prob friday..thanks
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#7 Ro

Ro
  • Guests

Posted 19 January 2011 - 01:28 PM

How fun! I recently upgraded yo windows 7 professional and I love it. So far I've been able to use it with all of my software... Which was a relief!

#8 DDecker

DDecker

    Live, Laugh, Love, Eat Chocolate!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,893 posts
  • Personal Statement:I am a mom, wife, sister, friend and daughter not necessarily in that order.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Southern New Hampshire

Posted 19 January 2011 - 05:18 PM

W7 is faster than vista and only a little different so you should be just fine, I love it. Most of your newer programs should work it's some of the older ones that you could have trouble with.
Posted Image
Posted Image Posted Image

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference. reinhold niebuhr

#9 caprimom

caprimom

    I'm a pixel crafter!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,184 posts
  • Personal Statement:live. laugh. love.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Virginia

Posted 19 January 2011 - 05:40 PM

We have Win 7 on the desktop and it runs all of the programs you mentioned just fine. Well, I'm not sure about ACDSee because I don't have that one but everything else was a go. I really prefer Win 7 to Vista. So much that I'm strongly considering upgrading my laptop.

#10 SodScrap

SodScrap

    SGU Teacher's Pet

  • Welcoming Committee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,638 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Missouri-KC metro

Posted 19 January 2011 - 06:43 PM

I have a few friends that when they got new computers with Win7 their printers wouldn't work. They ended up getting new printers. I have no idea what their computers/printers were, so I'm no help, huh??

I love Windows 7, have it on my laptop and netbook!

gallery_12013_66_17251.gif

ShredButton.pngSG_Olympian.pngButton_Welcome.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif
SG-9-Anniversary-SugarNSpice-Blinkie.gif


#11 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,324 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 19 January 2011 - 09:20 PM

I forgot that. Sadly, my workhouse HP LJ2012 doesn't work with Windows 7, and so far HP has not made a driver to resolve this.

gallery_17172_358_42296.png
SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#12 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 19 January 2011 - 09:22 PM

oh dear ...didnt know about that...how do i check this out? i have two printers.... a canon i4500 and a big canon i 9900 ...they are both older...
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#13 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,324 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 21 January 2011 - 12:26 PM

Bobbie,

Go to the Canon website, support & drivers section (don't know what they call it) and look for a driver for Windows 7. If they have one, you're set. If not, it may still be ok, but you can ask them. Also, check whether it's 32 bit or 64 bit. Most but not all new Win7 computers are 64 bit.

gallery_17172_358_42296.png
SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users