Jump to content


Photo

Ehd And Mozy


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 KFiasco

KFiasco

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,354 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:St. Louis, MO

Posted 25 January 2011 - 07:22 PM

Does anyone know if there is a possibility that I can do something to keep my EHD from starting a new backup when I unplug and replug it? I have it hooked up to my laptop and sometimes unhook it to take the laptop somewhere. When I reconnect it Mozy starts over.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2 CRS

CRS

    Scrappin' with CS5

  • Welcoming Committee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 30,377 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Columbia, Maryland

Posted 25 January 2011 - 08:36 PM

I ran into the same problem. If you disconnect the ehd, stop the Mozy back up first. It's a pain, but it will keep the backup from starting over. When you plug it back into the laptop, start Mozy back up again. Good Luck!

#3 HeidiD

HeidiD

    Jai guru deva... om.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,742 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Utah

Posted 25 January 2011 - 08:37 PM

I think the only thing you can do is pause your backup, then unplug your EHD, then plug it back in, then restart your backup.

The reason it starts over is because it thinks the files are new. Mozy isn't really designed to accommodate EHDs, so that's the best workaround I found.
...Heidi D...

#4 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,371 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 25 January 2011 - 08:56 PM

i have used mozy and my ehd for a few years...just make sure to suspend the backup by checking that on the bottom right where that icon is.... do you see the suspend choice..check it and then uncheck it when you plug your ehd back in...alternatively i think you can shut down your computer as well...
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#5 KFiasco

KFiasco

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,354 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:St. Louis, MO

Posted 25 January 2011 - 09:07 PM

Thanks, ladies, I knew someone would know the answer.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#6 tinkerbell11

tinkerbell11

    Collector of shoes, wearer of FLIP FLOPS

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,437 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Upstate New York

Posted 26 January 2011 - 07:14 AM

Great question Karen, I just got my Mozy all started and completed the initial backup and I haven't unplugged my EHD yet so I probably would have had the same issue when I did!

gallery_10753_358_55511.png
Button_Welcome.pngSG_BB_LoveThis.pngButton_Published.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users