Jump to content


Photo

Cant Save As Jpeg?s


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 candyK

candyK

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tampa area

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:24 AM

I have a PS file with a template, word art, etc all finished. I saved as psd and now want to create a jpeg for printing. I go save as>______. The option to save as a jpeg never comes up. I have completely shut down, let the hard drive rest and retried.

Has anyone ever had this happen? what can I do to save as a jpeg? I need this page asap.
Advice appreciated!
candyK

#2 Sara Arell

Sara Arell

    Scrap Girls Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,776 posts
  • Personal Statement:Let There Be Peace On Earth and Let It Begin With Me!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Hendersonville, NC

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:48 AM

Candy, I export when I save a jpeg file - have you tried that? It's under "File" I do this in PS and in InDesign.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#3 SodScrap

SodScrap

    SGU Teacher's Pet

  • Welcoming Committee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,888 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Missouri-KC metro

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:53 AM

Wow-how crazy is this? I really have no idea Candy-sorry! How frustrating!! Someone will come along with an answer soon!

gallery_12013_66_4024.png

ShredButton.pngSG_Olympian.pngButton_Welcome.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif
SG-9-Anniversary-SugarNSpice-Blinkie.gif


#4 MariJ

MariJ

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Welcoming Committee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,669 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:54 AM

I just usually click on the drop-down menu (there's an arrow next to where you save it as .psd) and there's a lot of choices.
I do this in PSE 6 on a Mac, though.

                gallery_19549_358_29403.png
BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif     Button_Welcome.png    Button_Published.png WT-Button-copy.gifSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#5 Becca

Becca

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,709 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:57 AM

Hi Candy,

Since you're going to save it as a JPG, try flattening the layout first. Right-click on any layer in your Layers Palette and then click "Flatten Image." Now try to save it as a JPG and see if that works.

Edited to add: Just be careful not to resave your PSD as the flattened file. :)

#6 princessrunningfingers

princessrunningfingers

    I'll Have You In Stitches In No Time

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,182 posts
  • Personal Statement:I am an avid stitcher, reader, and of course Scrap Girls Addict.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:58 AM

I can't understand why it is doing that to you. I always save mine as PSD's and JPEG's. But you can print from a PSD.

gallery_15063_3635_67504.png

BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gifScrap10-Blinkie.gifSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifBLINKIES_Pblshd.gifWT-Button-copy.gif


#7 JenniferZ

JenniferZ

    Scrap Girl Scrapper Devotee

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,024 posts
  • Personal Statement:Strong Women: May we know them. May we raise them. May we be them.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Enola, PA, USA

Posted 14 March 2011 - 07:13 AM

Try to check and see what mode you are in: if you are in RGB mode, change to CMYK mode OR if you are in CMYK mode, change to RGB. That might help!

spring10siggy.png
Button_Designer.pngSGblinkie.gifSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#8 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 42,348 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 14 March 2011 - 08:15 AM

The only times I've had that happen were when I was in the 16 bits per channel mode rather than 8. When I import photos from lightroom they usually come in as 16 bit images. I just change them to 8 by using Image>Mode.

gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

Scrap10-Blinkie.gif

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#9 mimes1

mimes1

    Loving This Purple Place

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,964 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 14 March 2011 - 08:56 AM

Are you using an Adobe Product? If so, you just need to change the file format option in the drop down box in the save as dialogue box. The Jpeg option won't pop up automatically. The others have give good advice to check on also! Please let us know how you are doing.

SG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngButton_Published.png


#10 candyK

candyK

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tampa area

Posted 14 March 2011 - 12:05 PM

Thank you all soo much! It was the 16 bit problem and once I converted it to 8 bit I was good to go. I had never encountered this before. Saved the day!
Thanks,
candyK

#11 Cheri T

Cheri T

    Scrap Woman

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,231 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa

Posted 14 March 2011 - 12:14 PM

we have a bunch of super smart Scrapgirls (and a couple guys:) here! Glad someone could help you so fast!

tn_gallery_7171_358_48818.png
Button_Designer.pngButton_Published.pngSGblinkie.gifSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#12 Ro

Ro
  • Guests

Posted 14 March 2011 - 01:27 PM

I've had that happen to me a time or two. It always related to the file being too big for my computer to handle it or the original file getting messed up. Here's what I did.

The first time it happened, I created a new file and moved everything over to it. Saved it with a new name and then the JPG option came back.

The second time it happened, I updated my Preferences to change my scratch disk to a different one that was largely empty. This gave the software the opportunity to "think" a little better. To do this go to Edit>Prefences>Performance. You can change how much RAM the software uses and also change the scratch disk. (The scratch disk is the "thinking" room.)

Hope that helps!

#13 kellymomof4

kellymomof4

    Scrapper Next Door

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Albuquerque, NM

Posted 29 November 2012 - 10:37 PM

HI, I am asking this question with my psd documents. I am using the blenders 2013 calendars. I have made 5 months so far. Yay! the first two I was able to save as a jpg and then the last 3 it won't let me. I tried flattening it and it is on RGB.It comes up with a box that says: "could not complete your request b/c of a program error." I have PSE 4.0 made 4 calendars over the years with 18 months each (to make extras for different sides of the family) UGH!!! Someone said you can print from psd, but at officemax it says to do it in a jpeg. Help!! Thanks, Kelly

ps I'll try making a new file and moving everything over later tonight.

#14 A-M

A-M

    Scrapper Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,923 posts
  • Personal Statement:I don't need to understand, I just need to hold His hand.
    - Emolyn C. Lambert
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 30 November 2012 - 06:36 AM

Have you merged all the layers first before trying to save as JPEG?

gallery_14380_66_44432.png

ScrapgirlAussieBlinkieGIF_zps0dd004c0.gi BLINKIES_aussies.gifBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users