Jump to content


Photo

Import The Color Swatches ?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 candyK

candyK

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tampa area

Posted 05 April 2011 - 01:31 PM

The last couple of kits I've purchased have come with the designer's color swatches. Yesterday I tried using the swatch to exactly match a color for the scrap simple layout I was doing. I couldn't figure out how to pull the color from the swatch. I couldn't use the color picker, and it kept opening in 'channels'.

Is there an easier way? I haven't found a lesson in the university.
Thanks,
candyk

#2 Heatheranne

Heatheranne

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,848 posts
  • Personal Statement:Learn from yesterday! Plan for tomorrow! Live today! :-)
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 April 2011 - 01:36 PM

I drag the colour swatch into my PSE9 window - make it small and keep it in bottom corner. When I want to use a colour from it, I use the eyedropper tool to change the colour of the program's colour chip, then I can pour, brush or use Hue/Sat, etc. :-)
Posted Image

My play tools are: CS5.5, PSE9; PRE9; PSPX2, on a Laptop PC, with Win7

#3 candyK

candyK

    Super Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tampa area

Posted 05 April 2011 - 01:53 PM

Thanks, ok--so I need to NOT import it into photoshop, but keep it nearby? I thought there was someway to create the swatch inside photoshop and have it stored there?
candyK

#4 Heatheranne

Heatheranne

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,848 posts
  • Personal Statement:Learn from yesterday! Plan for tomorrow! Live today! :-)
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 April 2011 - 02:00 PM

This is just what I do and it works for me. It's quick and easy peazy! lol I expect there is a way to make a colour chart with it and keep it in your system, but I don't know how. I'm sure if there is a way, someone will come along and mention it. Happy scrapping! :-)
Posted Image

My play tools are: CS5.5, PSE9; PRE9; PSPX2, on a Laptop PC, with Win7

#5 elibar

elibar

    If there's a cure for this, I don't want it!

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,121 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love your God. Learn His ways. Live for others.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:SE Pennsylvania

Posted 05 April 2011 - 04:05 PM

:dito: I do what heatheranne does!

gallery_11196_66_6225.png

Elisha Barnett
my latest products (click to view):

 

EBA_Emb_FingerprintChristmas_MKTG_150.jpEBA_EmbMin_MercGlSw_MKTG_150.jpg EBA_Collection_Kristen_MKTG_150.jpg EBA_SSTools_Styles_CleanFold_MKTG_150.jp

BLINKIES_Prayer.gifDesigner-sm-1.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#6 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 42,436 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 05 April 2011 - 05:56 PM

I don't know if you have the swatch tab in PSE, but in Photoshop there is an "Add to Swatches" button on the color picker. You can add all the colors from the designer's color swatch to that, and save them as a swatch set.When you save a swatch set, it saves as an ASE file. Those you can load into PS, but they aren't the kind of swatches included with some collections.

gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

Scrap10-Blinkie.gif

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#7 PBarnes

PBarnes

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,301 posts
  • Personal Statement:Digitally Addicted!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted 05 April 2011 - 10:09 PM

PSE does have color swatches. You can open it through Windows>Color Swatches. A quick look showed me that you can click on a New Page icon at the bottom of that window to add the current foreground color as a swatch. I think there is a way you can create separate color palettes but I will have to do a bit more investigation. I knew how to do it once in an earlier version but I haven't tried it in 9.

#8 Heatheranne

Heatheranne

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,848 posts
  • Personal Statement:Learn from yesterday! Plan for tomorrow! Live today! :-)
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 April 2011 - 10:26 PM

That's so cool Pat! I'm looking forward to hearing more about how to make your own swatches in PSE9. :-)
Posted Image

My play tools are: CS5.5, PSE9; PRE9; PSPX2, on a Laptop PC, with Win7

#9 Sheri Johnson

Sheri Johnson

    Scissor Samurai

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,985 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Idaho

Posted 06 April 2011 - 11:30 AM

In Photoshop I open it just like it's any other embellishment then use the eyedropper to select the first color. Once I have the first color selected I click the little icon in the color palette that looks like a folded square of paper (Create new swatch of foreground color.) It will add the color to the palette where I can access it easily any time. Then I do each of the others. And like April said you can save the swatch set. Hope that helps!
Sheri Johnson

Posted Image Posted Image

Featured Products:

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users