Printing Lo's With Professional Photos

Guest LJHawk

Hello, I'm a newbie at dig scrapping, and have completed a couple of 12x12 layouts, stored them on my harddrive. I do not have a wide format printing and am thinking of using an online professional printing service. My question: In a couple I have used photos that a professional photographer have taken. Will a printing service print my layouts without any copyright problems?
Thank, LJHawk

Guest PhotoByLaurie
[quote name='LJHawk' post='60561' date='Sep 28 2006, 03:47 PM']Hello, I'm a newbie at dig scrapping, and have completed a couple of 12x12 layouts, stored them on my harddrive. I do not have a wide format printing and am thinking of using an online professional printing service. My question: In a couple I have used photos that a professional photographer have taken. Will a printing service print my layouts without any copyright problems?
Thank, LJHawk[/quote]

Hopefully not...but sadly most labs and printers do not block the reproduction of copyrighted photographs. You [i]do[/i] need to contact your photographer for permission before scanning/reproducing the image. Most of the time they will be fine with it...but you have to ask.

Welcome to both of you!

I don't know much about this as I print my own layouts, but I have heard that sometimes Walmart won't even print photos that YOU took because they LOOK too professional! So go figure! I think that if the photo looks professional, you need permission.

Guest PhotoByLaurie
[quote name='wxchic' post='60761' date='Sep 29 2006, 08:10 PM']Welcome to both of you!

I don't know much about this as I print my own layouts, but I have heard that sometimes Walmart won't even print photos that YOU took because they LOOK too professional! So go figure! I think that if the photo looks professional, you need permission.[/quote]