Jump to content


Photo

My Cs5 Has Been Crashing Alot


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:16 PM

i cant find consistent pattern but cs 5 will crash often ...i have windows 7... it had been fine.... i dont know what is going on..first i noticed if i tried to open something from my ehd into photoshop it would immediately crash..then i tried to open cs 5 first and then bring something into photoshop..then it didnt crash... now when i go to save somthing it crashes and then the layout isnt saved..ugh..any ideas? some new update causing this? what to do?
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#2 Jo Corne

Jo Corne

    Racked, Stacked and Mac'd!!

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,976 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:44 PM

hey Bobbie, have you given Photoshop enough memory to run, especially with huge scrapbooking files open it needs some good 'memory' to work.

look in Preferences: Performance and look at your memory usage. I have bumped mine up close to the maximum suggested range.

worth a try?


Button_Designer.pngSG_LongLive_72_zps19f45c47.gif SG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif

JCO_PappasPizza_CollectionMini_MKTG_150. SGClub_Jul14_MKTG_150.jpg  JCO_Monsterrific_ValuePack_MKTG_150.jpg  JCO_BeachBlessingsCollectionMini_MKTG_15  JCO_SSAlbumMini_12x12_ValentinesWish2_MK   
My gallery
My Store


#3 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:47 PM

well i will try that but it looks like it is in the suggested range... which is about 2/3 of the bar i see... it just crashed twice on a layout that wasnt big..only a few layers when i went to save it...so i have to try to recreate it again for the third time..this is really frustrating
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#4 Ro

Ro
  • Guests

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:54 PM

Where do you have your scratch disk assigned? If you have a drive on your computer that doesn't have too much stuff on it, assign it there. If the drive you have assigned to it is too full, it will crash over and over again. PS needs that empty room to "think". My experience is that the scratch disk assignment is key.

#5 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:57 PM

just happened again when tried to save ugh ugh ugh
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#6 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:59 PM

i was trying to use something my dd had sent me from the internet, google image... could it be possible that you cant save cause they dont want you to use their image? is that a possibility? anyone ever hear of that?
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#7 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:10 PM

now it seems to be working..is it possible that when my back up with back blaze runs in backround it is causing a crash?
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#8 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:11 PM

Where do you have your scratch disk assigned? If you have a drive on your computer that doesn't have too much stuff on it, assign it there. If the drive you have assigned to it is too full, it will crash over and over again. PS needs that empty room to "think". My experience is that the scratch disk assignment is key.



thanks ro...but i dont know what is a scratch disk? or where to find out about it? lol...
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#9 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:27 PM

Attached File  ScreenHunter_01 Feb. 16 16.25.jpg   87.8KB   9 downloadshere is screen shot..does everything here look ok? i have most of my scrapping stuff on my ehd ( X) and thats where i save to
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#10 DragonsLady

DragonsLady

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Personal Statement:I believe in dragons, good men, and other fantasy creatures.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:New Mexico, USA

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:37 PM

Another possibility - how much space do you have on your hard drive? I recently read that you need to have at least 20% of your hard drive clear for your computer to run well. It needs space to swap things when you save files, open files etc. So, if you've got a 500 GB Hard drive and have more than 350 GB used, that may be why your system keeps shutting down. solution? Move some of your stuff off to an EHD.
DragonsLady (aka Francine)

"I believe in Dragons, Good Men, and other Fantasy Creatures" - Bumper Sticker

#11 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:58 PM

just about everything is on my ehd...my c drive is pretty empty
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#12 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 42,101 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:04 PM

I use CS4, but a few years ago it started crashing all the time like yours is. I just reinstalled and the problem went away.

gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#13 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:47 PM

I use CS4, but a few years ago it started crashing all the time like yours is. I just reinstalled and the problem went away.



thanks april..good to know
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image

#14 SandiC.

SandiC.

    Countess of Classes

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,344 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bandon, OR

Posted 16 February 2012 - 06:58 PM

I have a 500 GB HD and if I have less than 90 GB free, I get a few crashes and it slows, etc. I just need to move more of my 80,000 photos onto an EHD. LOL.
Posted Image

A true friend reaches for your hand and touches your heart. ~Author Unknown

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#15 Sherry Lynn

Sherry Lynn

    Proud to be a Maine-iac!

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,164 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Plymouth, Maine

Posted 17 February 2012 - 12:21 PM

Bobbie have you noticed if you are doing anything in particular when it crashes? My CS4 is crashing every time I try to use the text tool --- I learned the hard way to always save before trying to do any journaling. I can open my psd and do my journaling in PSE 6 just fine - so I'm not sure what is going on.
Posted Image



Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#16 bjc

bjc

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,360 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:new york

Posted 17 February 2012 - 12:25 PM

no cant figure out a pattern..ugh... and it was crashing when i went to save so nothing was saved and i had to recreate..it was a simple layout so at least only a few layers to recreate..and then happened again and then was fine... i was thinking maybe if my back blaze is doing a backup at same time???
Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image[size="4"]
Visit My GalleryPosted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users