Total Newbie Help

sjlilley

Hi everyone! I'm new here and I can't figure out what I've done wrong with PSE 10. I hope some one will be kind enough and patient enough to help.

I am not new to digital scrapbooking but I am new to PSE. I have used Microsoft Home Publishing, Microsoft Picture-It Platinum, (Oh how I miss that program!) Picture it Platinum did everything I wanted but will not work on Windows 7 and besides, now my disc is broken. (I have bought replacements from Ebay twice) Most recently I have used Scrapbook Max, Craft Artist and Serif Pageplus. I have found all of these to be very limited. So after rummaging around on the Scrapgirls website and reading the 15 Secrets ebook I decided it was time to try PSE 10.

So I downloaded it this morning and I am completely lost! I thought with my experience with publishing programs I would be able to pick up the basics fairly quickly. HA!

I can't even seem to work on one picture. I have tried the tutorials both here and at Adobe but I keep running in to a specific problem, I can't find the crop tool!

Actually I can find it but it's greyed out on the drop down menu and the tool box doesn't even have it in it. The spot where it is in the tutorial is occupied by the recompose tool and there doesn't seem to be one any anywhere else. Is this because this is the trial version?

I couldn't find anywhere where it said that the trial was not a full version. I am extremely frustrated! Anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks for all your time and help

Have you tried this.

Right click on the recompose tool, you should have a menu appear. The crop tool should be on this menu, click it. Crop should now be available.

Does that help?

Any item on the tool box that has a little grey arrow beside it, has multiple options. In addition to the above, the marquee tool has rectangular and elliptical options, for example.