Jump to content


Photo

So Frustrated!


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 JeannieH

JeannieH

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Personal Statement:Act Justly, Love Goodness and Walk Humbly.
  • Gender:Female

Posted 21 October 2012 - 08:36 AM

I am so frustrated with PSE at this moment. I have no idea how this happens, but with the last few times I have tried to open the app I get a message:saying "Not a valid PDF...." I am not trying to open a PDF! I just want to scrap! I try to turn off the warning and it just keeps coming back. Looked it up online and have tried the SHIFT-ALT-Command trick (it worked the first time). No luck. Any suggestions before I dump PSE?

Jeannie
http://nonnasscraps.blogspot.com
Sorting through the scraps to generate the gems!
 

Jeannie H

MovemberBlinkie.gifSGblinkie.gifBLINKIES_nextdoor.gifBLINKIES_good-girl.gif


#2 PBarnes

PBarnes

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,301 posts
  • Personal Statement:Digitally Addicted!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted 21 October 2012 - 08:47 AM

I've not run into this problem but it sure does sound frustrating. I wouldn't abandon PSE completely. It might be that you'll have to un-install and re-install it though. That can be a bit of a job if you have added a lot of styles and actions (which you'll have to re-load also), but it might be what you have to do. Other than that, I don't have any simple solution. Hopefully someone else will have a better idea.

#3 DixieLee

DixieLee

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,098 posts
  • Personal Statement:I love learning how to scrap and I feel rich because of this opportunity!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Centralia, Washington

Posted 21 October 2012 - 08:48 AM

man, I feel your frustration, I know others will help you with good advice--it is 6 am and I am trying to overcome a huge problem loading pages to a book company and can't do it so I want to chuck something at the screen! Wish i could help you!

#4 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,351 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 21 October 2012 - 09:03 AM

If you're on Windows 7, Vista, or XP Pro, try right-clicking on the PSE installation, and choose RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR. You don't need to uninstall first, but it will repair the installation, with additional privileges. That might very well help.

gallery_17172_358_42296.png
Scrap10-Blinkie.gif  SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#5 ScrapGram

ScrapGram

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,827 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Southeastern Ohio

Posted 21 October 2012 - 10:24 AM

Barbara you are awesome. I wish I was as tech savvy as you are. If I ever have a problem, I am coming straight to you. That is the worst thing about being retired -- no IT support! LOL! Hope your advice fixes Jeannie's problem.


gallery_22255_297_28360.png
BLINKIES_software-PSE.gifSGblinkie.gifBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif[img]


#6 PBarnes

PBarnes

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,301 posts
  • Personal Statement:Digitally Addicted!
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:58 PM

Thanks so much for coming up with a better option, Barbara! You are an invaluable resource for Scrap Girls.

#7 JeannieH

JeannieH

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Personal Statement:Act Justly, Love Goodness and Walk Humbly.
  • Gender:Female

Posted 21 October 2012 - 06:47 PM

Thanks, Barbara. Unfortunately, I am running it on my MAC. Suggestions greatly appreciated.

Jeannie
http://nonnasscraps.blogspot.com
Sorting through the scraps to generate the gems!
 

Jeannie H

MovemberBlinkie.gifSGblinkie.gifBLINKIES_nextdoor.gifBLINKIES_good-girl.gif


#8 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,351 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 21 October 2012 - 10:08 PM

Then I would contact Adobe. They do have some installation support; they want you to be happy. Once it's installed, it can be a great tool, and you'll get all the help you need here.

An uninstall and reinstall is not a bad idea.

Hope this helps.

gallery_17172_358_42296.png
Scrap10-Blinkie.gif  SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#9 JeannieH

JeannieH

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Personal Statement:Act Justly, Love Goodness and Walk Humbly.
  • Gender:Female

Posted 22 October 2012 - 05:50 AM

Barbra, thanks again! I found a trick online using the shift-at-command keys. It took me 30 min. of opening and closing the program, but it worked----for now. I will contact them tonight after work.

Jeannie
http://nonnasscraps.blogspot.com
Sorting through the scraps to generate the gems!
 

Jeannie H

MovemberBlinkie.gifSGblinkie.gifBLINKIES_nextdoor.gifBLINKIES_good-girl.gif


#10 CRS

CRS

    Scrappin' with CS5

  • Welcoming Committee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 30,026 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Columbia, Maryland

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:19 AM

I hope it's fixed and you can finally get to the fun part...Scrapping!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users