Jump to content


Photo

Brush Organizing


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 lori92760

lori92760

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:northern illinois

Posted 20 January 2014 - 09:34 AM

I kinda always have hated the way my brushes were organized in elements, but at least they did show up with their real names, so if I knew I wanted junk in the trunk, I could find it.  but in ps, I have to hover over the brush thumbnail to see the right name, ps gives it a number.  is there a way for the name and not a number to show up and this would be better:  could I pull up my brushes and see a file that says "junk in the trunk"  and click on it and then see those brushes?  am I making sense? 


I USE PSE10

lor
~peace begins with a smile~

#2 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 42,219 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:29 AM

In Photoshop, you have a Brush Preview Panel. Assuming the designer named the brush as the product name before saving the set, the brush name will show when you hover over it in the Brush Pre-set Panel (Window>Brush Pre-sets). I've attached a little screen shot for you.

 

Attached File  BrushPre-sets_SS.jpg   148.43KB   2 downloads

 

 


gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

Scrap10-Blinkie.gif

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#3 lori92760

lori92760

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:northern illinois

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:40 AM

I do not want to have to hover over a bunch of different thumbnails until I find the right ones. I want hoping there is another way.
I USE PSE10

lor
~peace begins with a smile~

#4 elibar

elibar

    If there's a cure for this, I don't want it!

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,099 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love your God. Learn His ways. Live for others.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:SE Pennsylvania

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:45 AM

Barbara wrote a little tutorial about  making brushes easier to see in this article on the blog:

 

Making Digital Scrapbook Brushes Handier and Even More Useful


gallery_11196_66_57667.png
siggie credits
Elisha Barnett
my latest products (click to view):

 

EBA_Collection_DaffodilDays_MKTG_150.jpg EBA_PaperMini_FreshPaint_MKTG_150.jpg  EBA_CollectionBiggie_Afresh_MKTG_150.jpg EBA_BrushSet_PapercutLadies2_MKTG_150.jp

BLINKIES_Prayer.gifDesigner-sm-1.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#5 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,358 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:53 AM

In Photoshop, click the tiny downward arrow at the upper right corner of the brush window.  You can change the view of the brushes between small & large thumbnails, small or large list, text only or stroke preview.

 

Attached File  Screenshot 2014-01-20 08.42.40.png   55.76KB   0 downloads

 

I like the large thumbnail view, but I also create a brush with the name and/or preview of a set and re-save the set so I always have it handy.  Sometimes I extract the marketing image, and sometime I only use the initials & title.  Then I don't have to wait for the hover title of a group.  (Note: the number is the largest dimension in pixels.)

 

Attached File  Screenshot 2014-01-20 08.49.49.png   109.96KB   0 downloads

 

I wrote this technique up for a tutorial a while back. I'll try to find the link later today and post it for you.  Hope this helps!


gallery_17172_358_42296.png
Scrap10-Blinkie.gif  SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#6 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,358 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:55 AM

Oh, look!  Elisha found it while I was doing this post, and posted it for me--see # 4 above.

 

Thanks, Elisha!


gallery_17172_358_42296.png
Scrap10-Blinkie.gif  SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#7 elibar

elibar

    If there's a cure for this, I don't want it!

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,099 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love your God. Learn His ways. Live for others.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:SE Pennsylvania

Posted 20 January 2014 - 11:03 AM

lol Barbara - happy to help!


gallery_11196_66_57667.png
siggie credits
Elisha Barnett
my latest products (click to view):

 

EBA_Collection_DaffodilDays_MKTG_150.jpg EBA_PaperMini_FreshPaint_MKTG_150.jpg  EBA_CollectionBiggie_Afresh_MKTG_150.jpg EBA_BrushSet_PapercutLadies2_MKTG_150.jp

BLINKIES_Prayer.gifDesigner-sm-1.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gif


#8 lori92760

lori92760

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:northern illinois

Posted 20 January 2014 - 11:22 AM

I am at work but when I get home I will play with it.  I was gone from work on Friday and in trying to be helpful things here at the office are totally screwed up.  so I cant even read the tutorial.  this might explain why I haven't had a vacation since 2008.  grrrr.


I USE PSE10

lor
~peace begins with a smile~

#9 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 42,219 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 20 January 2014 - 11:26 AM

While I LOVE the idea behind that tutorial, I'm just too lazy to actually do it.


gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

Scrap10-Blinkie.gif

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngSG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#10 Nica

Nica

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,335 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love God
    Love Others
    Offer Hope
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:33 PM

:dito:  (with an extra t)  I have so many brushes that it would take forever.  teehee...this from the girl that doesn't tag any of her products either...  Just thinking of it makes me dizzy!  :breakdance: :wobbly-eyes:


                             gallery_18472_66_76611.jpg

                               Scrap10-Blinkie.gif

 

 SG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifSG_BB_LoveThis.pngButton_Welcome.pngButton_Layout.png      

       


#11 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,358 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:07 PM

:dito:  (with an extra t)  I have so many brushes that it would take forever.  teehee...this from the girl that doesn't tag any of her products either...  Just thinking of it makes me dizzy!  :breakdance: :wobbly-eyes:

 

I don't tag either.  That's a whole 'nother subject.  I keep two copies of everything, one by collection and product, the other by what it is, e.g. Papers, Blue, or Embellishments, Leaves & Plants.


gallery_17172_358_42296.png
Scrap10-Blinkie.gif  SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist


#12 lori92760

lori92760

    Good Scrapper

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:northern illinois

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:10 PM

ok I am all good except the last step. once I do the first step wont those brushes always show up when I open my brushes?  and where am I putting them in the last step.  I am sorry I am not getting this. 


I USE PSE10

lor
~peace begins with a smile~

#13 englishrose

englishrose

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,608 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Essex U.K

Posted 20 January 2014 - 06:18 PM

Think I'm probably the laziest of all.  I dont install many of my brushes now - I just use the PNG files and colour them in the usual way as I use them.  I know this wont work for everything but it works for a lot.......


gallery_19958_304_47949.gif

]BLINKIES_UK.gifSG_Olympian.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gifSecondHomeBlinkieGIF.gif?t=1352459462WT-Button-copy.gif


#14 Nica

Nica

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,335 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love God
    Love Others
    Offer Hope
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:25 PM

Think I'm probably the laziest of all.  I dont install many of my brushes now - I just use the PNG files and colour them in the usual way as I use them.  I know this wont work for everything but it works for a lot.......

 

I'm with you on that, Hilary.

 

BTW, cute siggie!


                             gallery_18472_66_76611.jpg

                               Scrap10-Blinkie.gif

 

 SG-10thAnniversary-Blinkie.gifSG_BB_LoveThis.pngButton_Welcome.pngButton_Layout.png      

       


#15 teecee

teecee

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • TOU Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,926 posts
  • Personal Statement:Miracles happen to those who believe in them.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:South Central Pennsylvania

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:44 PM

Think I'm probably the laziest of all.  I dont install many of my brushes now - I just use the PNG files and colour them in the usual way as I use them.  I know this wont work for everything but it works for a lot.......

 

I do the same Hilary. I usually just use the PNG files, but I do install dynamic brushes and brushes I use quite often.



#16 BarbaraC1977

BarbaraC1977

    Organizational Diva -- loves to play with supplies!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,358 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:36 PM

ok I am all good except the last step. once I do the first step wont those brushes always show up when I open my brushes?  and where am I putting them in the last step.  I am sorry I am not getting this. 

 

Lori, after you save the set (I save and overwrite the original ABR, but you could make a copy,) then you can select the Preset manager, and delete brushes from the palette so your program loads more quickly. 

 

I load what I need or am considering, since in Photoshop you can just drag the ABR file into the window to load.  Periodically, I houseclean the brush palette.  As long as the original ABRs are saved, and you know where they are to reload them, you can keep your palette simple until you need particular brushes.  Does this help?


gallery_17172_358_42296.png
Scrap10-Blinkie.gif  SGblinkie.gif  SG_BB_LoveThis.png  BLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif
Scrapper | Wife | Mother | Friend | Soprano | Traveler
Rotarian | CEO, Auction Systems
| Recovering Perfectionist





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users