Jump to content


Photo

Help With Shape Tool

shape tool

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:59 AM

Hi!

 

I am struggling with the silly shape tool!  I am using Photoshop CS5.  Normally (default?) when I draw a rectangle it is a solid one.  I wanted to draw an outline so I looked it up online and it said to go into the Edit menu, choose Stroke and set it at 1 pixel which I did and it is perfect.  However, now I want to go back to solid and I don't know how!!!  Anyone?  UGH!



#2 teecee

teecee

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • TOU Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,622 posts
  • Personal Statement:Miracles happen to those who believe in them.
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:South Central Pennsylvania

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:05 AM

Hello and welcome to Scrap Girls!

 

Sorry, I don't use Photoshop, but hopefully someone who does will be along soon to help you. :)



#3 GinnyW

GinnyW

    Hot Scrapper

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:PA

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:28 AM

I'm using CS6 but it should be the same process.  If you don't actually have the tool bar showing just go back to the Edit menu and click on fill

Let me know if it works


Ginny
My Gallery
My Most recent Collections  (click on the image to be taken to the product page)

GWH_GrownWithLove_Col_MKTG150.jpg GWH_RubADub_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg GWH_BigBang2_Collection_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_MomsDay_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_SoftlySpoken_ColBiggie_Mktg150.jpg  GWH_CollectionBiggie_UnderConstruction_M
SGblinkie.gifButton_Designer.png


#4 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:29 AM

I tried that and it filled the whole layer instead of just the shape.....



#5 GinnyW

GinnyW

    Hot Scrapper

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:PA

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:36 AM

First thing I would suggest is go to the window tab and make sure options is checked  This way you can make changes much more easily.

I just did the edit fill process that you were talking about and it did cause an error for me.  Not sure why

So I closed and reopened Photoshop

 

So, save what you are doing, close photoshop and reopen it

Make sure you have the options showing (by checking that in the drop down list from the window tab)

then you should be able to switch back and forth between fill and stroke on your shape

If you want it exactly the same size, just duplicate the layer and make one a fill and one a stroked layer


Ginny
My Gallery
My Most recent Collections  (click on the image to be taken to the product page)

GWH_GrownWithLove_Col_MKTG150.jpg GWH_RubADub_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg GWH_BigBang2_Collection_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_MomsDay_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_SoftlySpoken_ColBiggie_Mktg150.jpg  GWH_CollectionBiggie_UnderConstruction_M
SGblinkie.gifButton_Designer.png


#6 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,939 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:11 AM

When you select the shape tool, it will show all the tool options in the top bar. This is where you'll need to make the changes.

Attached File  ShapeTool_SS.jpg   49.84KB   1 downloads (Click on the image and it will get bigger).

This shows the settings for filling the shape with black. To change the fill color or type click on the little arrow to choose.

The red diagonal line on the stroke shows that it won't add a stroke.


gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngWT-Button-copy.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#7 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:46 AM

Hmm  that is not what mine looks like......I wonder why?



#8 GinnyW

GinnyW

    Hot Scrapper

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:PA

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:33 PM

I think April has or had CS5 so she will probably be able to help you more than I can.  Is it possible for you to post an image of your tool bar so we can see what you have?

And, did you check under the window tab in your main tool bar to see if options is checked?  That is what allows me to see the tool bar image in CS6 that April posted.


Ginny
My Gallery
My Most recent Collections  (click on the image to be taken to the product page)

GWH_GrownWithLove_Col_MKTG150.jpg GWH_RubADub_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg GWH_BigBang2_Collection_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_MomsDay_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_SoftlySpoken_ColBiggie_Mktg150.jpg  GWH_CollectionBiggie_UnderConstruction_M
SGblinkie.gifButton_Designer.png


#9 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:49 PM

Options is checked.  Here is what my tool bar looks like.... 

 

Attached File  Shapes tool bar.JPG   31.71KB   0 downloads



#10 Nica

Nica

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,223 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love God
    Love Others
    Offer Hope
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:02 PM

I use CS5.  Here's a screen shot of my toolbar.  You'll want to select the first box (Default Style None). 

Attached File  Capture.JPG   36.38KB   0 downloads

 

If you don't have that option, click on the little arrow on the right and choose reset styles.

Attached File  Capture 2.JPG   24.29KB   0 downloads

 

Hope this helps!


                                            gallery_18472_304_721.gif

 

                                                       SGblinkie.gif

 

               WT-Button-copy.gif SG_BB_LoveThis.pngButton_Welcome.pngButton_Layout.png      

       


#11 April Showers

April Showers

    Boutique Diva

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,939 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:05 PM

I'm using CS6, but I think it looked more like yours in CS4 because it does look familiar. I have to run out the door for the day or I'd turn on the machine behind me that has CS4 installed.

If you don't get someone else helping by the time I get home in 9 hours, I'll open it up and play with it to see if I can help you better.

 

Oh yay, Monica to the rescue! She must have posted while I was reading and responding.


gallery_5375_358_11104.pngMy Gallery I scrap with Photoshop CS6.

SGblinkie.gifButton_Layout.pngWT-Button-copy.gifButton_Welcome_Mgr.pngBLINKIES_MOM-Past.gif


#12 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:09 PM

Oh yay fixed - good grief I knew it was probably simple :P  Oh thank goodness.   I wish I had more time on my hands so I could spend more time learning all of this stuff from y'all!  I have entirely too many hobbies and interests for one human being!  Now I can get on with the Planner Pages I am working on!



#13 GinnyW

GinnyW

    Hot Scrapper

  • Design Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:PA

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:12 PM

Glad you got it fixed!  thanks Monica and April :) 


Ginny
My Gallery
My Most recent Collections  (click on the image to be taken to the product page)

GWH_GrownWithLove_Col_MKTG150.jpg GWH_RubADub_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg GWH_BigBang2_Collection_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_MomsDay_ColBig_MKTG150.jpg  GWH_SoftlySpoken_ColBiggie_Mktg150.jpg  GWH_CollectionBiggie_UnderConstruction_M
SGblinkie.gifButton_Designer.png


#14 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:15 PM

You know what's going to happen next - I will want the outline rectangle back and not remember what to do :P  Hahahaha!



#15 Nica

Nica

    Scrap Girl Messageboard Wise One

  • Creative Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,223 posts
  • Personal Statement:Love God
    Love Others
    Offer Hope
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:15 PM

Oh, good!  Glad to help!

 

To get the rectangle back, same screen shot, bottom left hand corner.  :)


                                            gallery_18472_304_721.gif

 

                                                       SGblinkie.gif

 

               WT-Button-copy.gif SG_BB_LoveThis.pngButton_Welcome.pngButton_Layout.png      

       


#16 Pezadoodle

Pezadoodle

    New Scrapper on the Block

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 04:13 PM

perfect! how easy is that!






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users