Photoshop Or Elements

fran

I am thinking of upgrading my program (I have PSE original) and I'm wondering what the difference is between photoshop and photoshop elements besides the price!

I think my focus will be on scrapbooking, however I might want to do things for work (I'm a teacher). Does anyone have a preference between the two?

Fran, I have both PSE3 and PhotoshopCS. While there really is alot of difference between the two programs. Photoshop is a much more powerful program and you have alot more control over the outcome of your product/design. I have to say if my main use of it was to scrapbook with and do some other odds and ends with I would stay with PSE. Your able to do almost everything in it (even when i'm designing I will do 99% of my work in elements then open the file in CS to add those special touches to it) and obviously the cost is much better.

Also did you know you can go to www.adobe.com and download a free 30 day trial of Photoshop and/or Photoshop Elements. That might help you decided which is better for you.

PSE 3 or 4 are GREAT for beginner to intermediate digiscrappers - heck, there are designers who use it, too. Elements is a very powerful program these days, and if you're upgrading from the original Elements to PSE 4, you'll have a LOT more capabilities than what you have now. You can usually find PSE4 on sale for under $80 or so. Costco had it on sale for $40, but I don't know if that promotion is still ongoing.

Guest sfcgijill
By the way, did you guys know that if you are enrolled in college, you can purchase Photoshop through the bookstore at less than half price? Follet.com lists Photoshop CS2 at $299.98, while Best Buy has it for $650.

Happy shopping!