Help Getting Started

scraptastic

Hi! I'm BRAND new to digital scrapbooking and want to figure out the best way to get started.

As I understand it, I'll need some photo-editing software. Within that, I can layer the digital scrapbooking "stuff" like backgrounds, letters, stickers, and "embellishment" type stuff as I used to call it in traditional scrapping. And of course, the actual photos would be layered here too.

I can see the organizing of all that "stuff" might start to be tricky. I did read Ro's e-book and like her suggested method - it makes sense to me.

Is there a way for me to keep my original photos in iPhoto, and then just use the ones I want to put in layouts in the photo editing software? So I'll always have what I pulled off my camera saved in iPhoto, and any changes I make to the photo would be saved somewhere else?

I'm ready to buy some software, and don't want to spend too much. Can someone recommend one that can work with iPhoto like I described above?

I'm not even sure my question is making a lot of sense. Please bear with me! I appreciate any help you guys can give!

Hi- I use iPhoto and have a Mac! Welcome! I have been a Mac user for years and a digital scrapbooker for about 3 years or so.

I went through several methods of organizing my digi stuff. What I am using now is Picasa-it's free and so far it's working for me. I choose not to keep kits together but many do. It just didn't work for me. What I do do when I tag in Picasa is to put in the kit name so I can put that kit name in the search field and find all the related stuff. That's my method in a nutshell. If you want to know more details, just ask.