Best Lens?

harpangel36

I am the proud owner of a Canon Rebel T2 Digital camera. I am a total newbie and have only ever had a point and shoot. I can't wait to learn to use it. Since fighting breast cancer, I don't have the strength to carry around a bunch of lenses and wondered if I could choose one lens that would somewhat do it all what would you all recommend? I will mostly be photographing my grandchildren and nature (flowers, sunsets, etc). Thanks so much for any suggestions.

looks into the nifty fifty or canon efs 50mm 1:1.8 II is it's offical name LOL check out ebay for great deals on it it is light weight and small

yes, those will work well... are you looking for a fixed lens or a zoom? the nifty fifty really is a great little lens for the money.. my dd just got it after she took mine to try and didn't want to take it off of her XT... :rofl: ....... I finally told her to get her own!

Guest DeeMac

I relate to what you're saying. I saved my pennies and bought the Tamron 18-270mm VR lens and it does everything. I got some wonderful shots at the grandson's football games with it full out, and I've also gotten awesome closeups of their beautiful faces at a very close range. I have also had good results shooting wildlife and flowers. I'm very pleased with it. I'm happy to not have to keep changing lenses.

If I could only have one lens, I'd go with the Tamron zoom. I have the 18-200 with macro and love it. The macro shots come out great. I also got some great shots of my granddaughter cheerleading.

Nevermind, I looked it up on the net and it's a weee bit out of my price range. Maybe after I get my three left at home through college. lol

I did the same but my kids are all gone (opps) out of my price range right now too!